Visit to New Orleans

I just spent the last week in New Orleans for work.  If you haven’t been to New Orleans, it is a great place for food.  We ate at several restaurants that were really good and the food was reasonably priced.

Oceana Grill

We ate both Saturday night and Tuesday night at Oceana Grill. One of my coworkers found out about it online.  It is ranked number 2 on Trip Advisor.  Their menu had lots of local “Nawlings” specials including a couple of options for vegetarians. Check out their menu here. It is a casual place. Oceana Grill is located right off of Bourbon street.  In fact my picture was taken on the corner of Bourbon Street and Conti Street.  I had the Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo both nights.  It was great.  It had a New Orleans flare to it with some extra spices to give it an extra zip.  My coworkers had the Taste of New Orleans which had Red Beans & Rice, Creole Jambalaya, and Crawfish Etouffee.  Another coworker had the seafood gumbo.  For appetizers we tried the Oceana’s Famous Oysters.  All options were very yummy.  We liked it so much we decided to go back the last night we were there.

We also ate Grand Isle Restaurant one night.  I had the shrimp and grits and it was very good.  For an appetizer we had BBQ shrimp which was also very tasty.  Everyone seemed to enjoy their food at this restaurant as well.

For lunch one day I went to the Riverwalk Marketplace.  The Riverwalk Marketplace is a mall with retail stores, restaurants and food court.   I ate a shrimp po-boy from Mike Anderson’s Seafood in the food court.  Loved the sandwich and the fries!

We took some clients out to lunch one day at Mother’s Restaurant.

Mother's Restaurant

This is a famous restaurant that serves New Orleans fare.  The line starts forming for lunch around 11:00.  We arrived at 11:30 and had to wait a few minutes to get in.  I ordered Red Beans & Rice with meat and veggies.  I selected ham and Fries.  This restaurant is famous for their ham.  The Red Beans & Rice were very flavorful, but my fries were cold and the ham was just ok.  3 of the others ordered the Famous Ferdi Special which is a Po-Boy with Ham, Roast Beef, Debris & Gravy.  All three cleaned their plate, so I think it must have been pretty good!

Mother's Restaurant Inside

Red Beans & Rice with Meat & Veggie

Famous Ferdi Special Po-Boy

We also had to visit Cafe Du Monde for Coffee and Beignets.

Cafe Du Monde

I’m not much for coffee so I had hot cocoa!  The Beignets were covered in powered sugar and were very tasty!  Word of caution…we thought we could each eat at least 2, but they were very filling, so we had a couple of leftovers.  Also you will have powered suger all over you, so be sure and wear light colors or cover yourself well with napkins 🙂

Beignets from Cafe Du Monde

Finally I got to eat at one of my favorite chain restaurants – Raising Cane’s Chicken Fingers when I went to Baton Rouge to visit LSU.

Raising Cains Chicken Fingers

I’ve only seen these in Texas and Louisiana, but when I went out to add their website just now, I see that there is one in Ft Collins, CO.  Wonder when I can come up with a good reason to go there, it is only about 70 miles from my home 🙂  If you like chicken fingers this place is really good.  They make them fresh and have a really yummy sauce to go with them.  I like the meal with crinkle cut fries and Texas Toast.

Raising Cain

3 Finger Meal

For fun I visited the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas in New Orleans.

Audubon Aquarium

This is a really nice aquarium located next to the Riverwalk Marketplace.  I was the first one in line, so it was fun to walk through without many people around.  I walked back through a second time and it was a lot more crowded, but I got to see some things that weren’t out when I walked through the first time, like the otters.

All in all it was a good trip to New Orleans even if I did have to work at a conference and present a workshop while I was there! 🙂

Audubon Aquarium

Audubon Aquarium

2 thoughts on “Visit to New Orleans

  1. There are plenty of reasons to make it up to FoCo (my hometown!). First reason: New Belgium Brewery, 2nd reason: Odell’s brewery, 3rd reason: Downtown Fort Collins, 4th reason: Fort Collins Brewery… 🙂 Just teasing! Fort Collins is a lovely place to visit and has lots of good hiking. You can also take a rafting trip down the Poudre Canyon… a must for all those who live in CO! And you’d get to have a good meal (though I’d also refer you to Big City Burrito!).
    -Heather C from the Zoo

Leave a Reply

