Black Bean Zucchini Quesadillas – New Recipe for us!

I found a new recipe on one of the blogs I recently started to follow – Veggie Table.  The recipe is for Black Bean Zucchini Quesadillas.  I made these Quesadillas for hubby and I for lunch and they were yummy! Of course if you know me you know I have to change the recipe so it fits mine and hubby’s taste.  If you click above you can see the original recipe and below I will tell you how I made it 🙂

Hubby’s no cheese quesadilla

Ingredients

  • 1/2 of med zucchini, grated (1/2 leftover from last nights stir fry 🙂
  • 15 oz  canned black beans, drained
  • 2-3 oz Monterey Jack, grated
  • 1/4 cup onion, chopped
  • 1/2 jalapeño, minced
  • salsa
  • sour cream
  • 3 eight-inch red chile tortillas
  • olive oil

Red Chile Tortillas from Whole Foods

Quesadilla with Cheese

This yielded 3  Quesadillas folded in half (plus some leftover filling).  3 quesadillas is pretty much all the 2 of us could eat at lunch.

I started by mixing the drained black beans, grated zucchini & jalapeno together in a small mixing bowl.  I’m not too fond of onion and hubby doesn’t eat cheese so I didn’t mix either of those into the mixture. I then took a tortilla and put the mixture on 1/2.  I added a little salsa to each and then onions on hubby’s and cheese on mine.  Then folded the tortilla in half. I then put a little olive oil on the outside of the tortillas.

GT Xpress

My Mom gave me a GT Xpress a while back and I thought this might be the quick and easy way to cook the Quesadillas.  Now you know why I folded them in half!  I preheated the Xpress for while I was preparing the filling, then I put a little olive oil on the outside of the quesadillas. I let them heat/cook for 8-10 minutes.  It may not have took as long, but I checked on them several times since I didn’t know how long they would take to cook.  When they had a little brown on the outside I took them out and put a little sour cream on mine.  Hubby doesn’t do much dairy, so no sour cream for him

Leftover Mixture of Zucchini, Black Beans & Jalapeno

I ended up with enough leftover filling to do at least one more and probably 2.  I food saved the rest and will freeze it.  I’ll let you know how it turns out when we take it out of the freezer one day 🙂

One thought on “Black Bean Zucchini Quesadillas – New Recipe for us!

Leave a Reply

