Stir Fry – Gluten Free, Sesame Free and Coconut Free

In my last blog I gave the recipe for my husband’s Friday night Stir Fry.  I have to make mine separately because I can not have coconut or sesame, but I can have soy.  Also I’m not vegetarian, so I like to put chicken or seafood in mine.  Usually I put shrimp or scallops or both.  I also don’t like veggies that much so you see a lot less veggies in mine.  Here’s a couple of pictures of what my stir fry has looked like the last couple of weeks!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Gluten-Free Stir Fry

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Gluten-Free Stir Fry


INGREDIENTS:

  • Brown Rice Noodles (1/2 box, split between hubby’s stir fry and mine)
  • 1/2-1 cup of Shrimp or Scallops (or both)
  • 1-2 teaspoons of Gluten-Free Soy Sauce
  • 1/2-1 teaspoon of Rice Wine Vinegar
  • Salt/Pepper to taste
  • A few dashes of Cayenne Pepper
  • A few dashes of Paprika
  • 1/2-1 teaspoon of OnionPowder ( I don’t like Onions)
  • Peppers
  • Snap Peas
  • Zucchini
  • Tablespoon Butter or Olive Oil

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Cook noodles according to directions on box and set aside.  We usually use Annie Chun’s Pad Thai Brown Rice Noodles
  2. Heat Oil in Wok or Frying Pan. I cook on Medium heat because I’m cooking 2 different stir frys at one time.
  3. When you can drop water into pan and it hisses then it is ready.
  4. Add Shrimp/Scallops Onion Power and Peppers and let cook a couple of minutes
  5. Add other veggies and let cook 3-5 minutes  Put in what you like for veggies.  These happen to be the ones I like
  6. Add spices with veggies.  Add spices you like.  We have tried several and these are the ones I like.
  7. Add noodles when veggies are done, turn off heat
  8. Add Gluten Free Soy Sauce and Rice Wine Vinegar

Serve warm.

I learned few things along the way…

  1. Soy Sauce goes a long way. You need way less of it than the Coconut Amino.
  2. Fish Oil is yucky!  (and smells bad too! Especially when it gets turned over in the panty and spills all over everything.  Took us weeks to get the smell out of the panty).
  3. Make sure veggies get cooked enough! 2-3 minutes usually is good for everything but the onions and peppers.
  4. Cook the rice noodles.  Some of the packs say you can just let the noodles set in hot water for 10 minutes.  I have found that they are not tender using this method.
  5. Making this recipe goes a lot faster when Veggie Hubby cuts up all the veggies while I get everything else together and cook the noodles 🙂

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Stir Fry – Gluten Free, Sesame Free and Coconut Free

Leave a Reply

