First Attempt to make Gluten Free Granola

Got to say that it turned out very good!  Even Veggie Hubby liked it!

Gluten Free Granola

Gluten Free Granola

 

I adapted the recipe from one I printed from a blog back last summer and unfortunately it doesn’t have the URL on the printout so I can’t give credit to the original poster.  I’m sorry about that, because this one recipe is really yummy!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 1/2 cups of nuts (I used cashews, pecans and walnuts (all raw)) (original recipe called for mixed roasted nuts)
  • 1/3 cup shredded coconut
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil melted
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup dried fruit (I used blueberries)

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 325
  2. Put nuts in food processor and pulse a few times.  I used my Vita-mixer and probably ground the nuts too fine, so I’ll play with the settings next time to get a courser effect.
  3. In a bowl combine all ingredients(except dried fruit) and mix well
  4. Place on parchment lined baking sheet and spread out thinly
  5. Bake for 15 minutes
  6. Remove from over and let cool, break into pieces, mix in dried fruit.

We have been eating it dry, but I think it would be good as cereal with a little almond or coconut milk!  I didn’t use almonds because Veggie Hubby can’t have those right now.

 

Leave a Reply

