New Favorite Snack: Caramelized Pecans

Caramelized Pecans

Caramelized Pecans

Our new favorite snack is Caramelized Pecans.  These are very easy to make and pretty good for you.  I found the recipe here.  My biggest improvement to the recipe is to double it!  1 cup of pecans just doesn’t last too long with veggie hubby in the house.

Usually I put the Pecans into water before I go to bed at night and then the next morning I can put them in the marinade and let them marinade while I’m getting ready in the morning.  Then I put them in the dehydrator and they are ready the following morning.  I have found for our dehydrator that it takes 24 hours for the best results.  Also if you have temperature control on your dehydrator, I set ours between 115-125 degrees.

 

2 tips:

  1. Use old or dark colored towels to dry pecans.  They will stain anything light colored.  I learned this one the hard way.
  2. While the Pecans are marinating, stir them a couple of times during the hour.  This will ensure that the pecans are evenly coated before you put them in the dehydrator.

All I can say is they are very yummy!

We found the best place to buy the pecans and honey is Costco for the best deal.  I have pecans soaking in water as I write this and will be putting them in the dehydrator this evening. I forgot to put them in water last night!

Caramelized Pecans marinating

Caramelized Pecans marinating

One thought on “New Favorite Snack: Caramelized Pecans

  1. Pingback: What food should I make for the Super Bowl? | Vegetarian Wife's Blog

Leave a Reply

