Gluten Free Dessert Pizza

Gluten Free Dessert Pizza

Gluten Free Dessert Pizza

This is one of the recipes we got from Designer Health Center when we were on our plan to improve our health earlier this year.  This dessert pizza is easy to make and very yummy.

Ingredients:

  • 1 granny smith apple (sliced is small pieces)
  • 1 tsp of butter
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • 2 brown rice tortillias
  • Plain (non-flavored yogurt) or almond butter or cashew butter
  • 2 teaspoons of honey

Heat apples in a saucepan with the butter and cinnamon. Let simmer for 10 minutes over medium. While the apples cool.  Spread the almond butter over the tortilla (we were out of almond butter, so I used cashew butter, which was yummy).  Then spread the honey on top.  If you want to use Yogurt instead of the nut butters (for a nut free version), then spread honey first then the yogurt.  The order matters for ease of spreading.  Add the apple mixture to the wrap and bake at 300 degrees for 10 minutes.  I used a pizza cutter to slice into quarters and veggie hubby and I shared one and saved the second one for the next day.

Brown Rice Tortillia

Brown Rice Tortillia

These are the brown rice tortillas I used and got them from Whole Foods in the frozen food section.  I also used a granny smith apple and the cashew butter came from Whole Foods. Honey came from Costco.

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Dessert Pizza

  1. I make my own mixed nut buttet.I buy a blend of almonds, walnuts,hazelnuts,brazilnuts and cashews at the bulk food section at whole foods.After I grind them in my mini cuisinart, I add a few drops of walnut or almond oil until it becomes a smooth UNPEANUT mixed nut butter.I spread it on multi grain bread with organic jam or fruit spread.Add a banana for a delicious healthy breakfast or lunch.Your kids will love it!

Leave a Reply

