Did a little gluten free baking over the holidays!

Holiday Goodie Plate

Since moving to CO I have loved baking cookies and other fun treats and creating plates of goodies for my neighbors for the holidays. Last year I was unable to do this because of the health program we were on, so this year I went a little crazy. I made all kinds of recipes that were Gluten free and pretty healthy. Most of the treats turned out to be really good and some were exceptional.  On the left you can see a picture of one of the goodie plates I created. There are several kinds of cookies, a couple of bars, nuts and brownies.  Over the next few weeks I’ll share the recipes and how well we liked each.

In a past post I shared a recipe for Caramelized Pecans.  One of my friends suggested that this same recipe would be good for walnuts, so I decided to give it a try.  I made 4 batches of the pecans to use for my goodie plates and to take back east to share with family.  Of course, I forgot to take them back east, so veggie hubby and I are enjoying the what’s left all by ourselves! You can see a close up shot of the walnuts after being in the dehydrator for 24 hours.  These did take a couple of hours longer than the pecans.  I think they are pretty good and plan to use them on salads.  Veggie hubby has declared that the pecans are way better than the walnuts. The good news is either works well with the recipe for the marinade.

NOTE:  Veggie Hubby bought the dehydrator, thus why we have the industrial size model.  Would love more recipes for the dehydrator if anyone is willing and able to share 🙂

Caramelized Walnuts

Our dehydrator with 4 batches of pecans and 1 batch of walnuts!

Tray of Caramelized Walnuts

Leave a Reply

