Our favorite treat from the holidays – Gluten-Free Homemade Almond Joys

Homemade Almond Joys

I don’t think I’ve mentioned this but I like to collect recipes and then when I have a chance I try them out. I probably have 100 or so printed recipes waiting for me to try. In my last post I talked about the goodie plates I made for Christmas. I made  8 or 9 treats and that was culled down from probably 25 or so recipes. Shockingly enough Veggie Hubby and I agreed on the best of the lot and that was the Homemade Almond Joys. I made them one day at lunch and Veggie Hubby wanted to eat one before I even got the chocolate on top. I finally let him and he loved it! He loved them even more with the chocolate. I got the recipe from a Halloween post over a year before. Unfortunately right about the time I found the recipe I discovered I had a sensitivity to coconut, so I stayed away from it for over 6 months and now I don’t have that issue, hooray!

You can find the recipe here Happy Halloween! Healthy Almond Joy Bars.

When I make these again I will make 1 change and that is to make them smaller probably by just breaking them in 1/2.   I think for me I would like them to be more bite size.  The ones I made were about 2 1/2 to 3 inches long  and I made 22 of them (so the 16 you see in this picture and 6 more on another pan).

Also I used about a cup of chocolate chips from Chocolove (see below).  Veggie hubby is a big Chocolove addict and big dark chocolate lover, me not so much.  These were a nice compromise.   I bought  these chips from Whole Foods.

Homemade Almond Joys without the choloclate

Chocolate chips I used

2 thoughts on “Our favorite treat from the holidays – Gluten-Free Homemade Almond Joys

  1. Pingback: Gluten Free Christmas Goodies aka Cookie Day! | Vegetarian Wife's Blog

  2. Pingback: What food should I make for the Super Bowl? | Vegetarian Wife's Blog

Leave a Reply

