Award Winning Chili Recipe – Vegetarian Version

Vegetarian Chili after 4 hours

Over 20 years ago the company I worked at had a Chili competition. I asked the winner for the recipe and he reluctantly shared after I told him I wanted to modify it to make a vegetarian version.  Over the years, I have made several changes and have entered this chili into several contest.  It has always come in second place to a meat version and as a carnivore I can understand that.  Of course with that said, it has always beat out all the other meat versions!

I always make 2 pots of chili when I make it (one with meat and one without).  I then freeze the rest and veggie hubby and I have it for lunch. We just take it out the night before and it will thaw out and be ready to heat for lunch the next day.

This week I will share the vegetarian version recipe and next week I’ll share the meat version.

One of my secrets is I use at least 2 different kinds of chili powder.  I find this gives the chili a much richer flavor.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 onion chopped
  • 1 green pepper diced
  • 1-2 tbs Olive Oil
  • 1 – 40 oz can kidney beans (dark red if available), drained (or 3 16 oz cans)
  • 1 – 16 oz can chili beans
  • 1 – 16 oz can black beans, drained
  • 1 – 16 oz can pinto beans, drained
  • 1 – 16 oz jar medium salsa
  • 1 1/2 to 2 tbs chili powder
  • ground black pepper
  • 1 – 28 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1 small can tomato sauce
  • Optional: 1 16 oz can of corn

Directions

  1. Put olive oil, onion and green pepper in crock pot on high with lid, stir often
  2. Open and drain everything that needs to be drained, while the onions and peppers sauté.  I use a Pampered Chef Can Strainer.
  3. Once the onions and green peppers are ready, put everything else into the crock pot
  4. Let it cook on low for 4 hours (or longer).
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Chili Ingredients

Vegetarian Chili after about an hour

4 thoughts on “Award Winning Chili Recipe – Vegetarian Version

  1. This recipe happened because my favorite cooking reference, Google, totally failed me. It was Halloween and I was inspired. Pumpkin chili was on the menu. One of our children was a vegetarian and it seemed like a wonderful, hearty solution. But I had no recipe and Google was no help. I even looked through actual cookbooks. Every version I found contained meat, pumpkin puree, or both. My vision was a meat-free dish with chunks of pumpkin. Goshdarnit, the pumpkin chili was happening, recipe or not. I decided to wing it.

  2. Pingback: What food should I make for the Super Bowl? | Vegetarian Wife's Blog

Leave a Reply

