Award Winning Chili Recipe – Beef Version

Beef Chili

As a follow up to my last post here is the meat version recipe.

As I stated in the last post I always make 2 pots of chili when I make it (one with meat and one without).  I then freeze the rest and veggie hubby and I have it for lunch.  Just take it out the night before and it will thaw out and be ready to heat for lunch the next day.

Last week I shared the vegetarian version recipe and now week I’ll share the meat version.

One of my secrets is I use at least 2 different kinds of chili powder.  I find this gives the chili a much richer flavor.

I also have a second secret that involves how I brown the ground beef.  I shared this secret in a post a couple of years back. Simple way to brown ground beef.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1/2 onion wedges
  • 2 – 16 oz can kidney beans (dark red if available), drained
  • 1 – 16 oz can chili beans
  • 1 – 16 oz can pinto beans, drained
  • 1 – 16 oz jar medium salsa
  • 1 1/2 to 2 tbs chili powder
  • ground black pepper
  • 1 – 28 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1 small can tomato sauce

Directions:

  1. Bake the hamburger, with the onion wedges on top, in a baking dish for 1/2 hour (or until brown throughout) @ 350 F.  Drain off grease.
  2. Crumble the hamburger and put the hamburger and onions in a large pot
  3. Open and drain everything that needs to be drained, while the onions and peppers sauté.  I use a Pampered Chef Can Strainer.
  4. Once the onions and green peppers are ready, put everything else into the crock pot
  5. Let it cook on low for 4 hours (or longer).
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Chili Ingredients

Beef Chili with Cheese and Sour Cream

Now, I don’t like onions so I just sprinkle onion powder over my ground beef before I cook it (approximately 1-2 tsp). I also don’t like the texture of tomatoes so I run my tomatoes through a food processor. If I make the chili for others, I refrain from doing both of these steps:)

Leave a Reply

