Gluten Free Light Dinner Rolls

Gluten Free Light Rolls

Gluten Free Light Rolls

I first tried this recipe for Gluten Free Dairy Free Light Dinner Rolls last Thanksgiving.  They are fabulous and very light and fluffy! By far one of our favorite recipes.

When I was growing up in NC there was a local steak house chain that advertised their big fat yeast rolls. And I loved them.  That restaurant has since gone out of business, but these rolls are just as delicious and without the gluten.

I found this recipe back before Thanksgiving  at the last minute and I wasn’t sure if I would be able to find the flour in the recipe at Whole Foods, so I ordered it from Amazon.  Click here for the Asian White Rice Flour I ordered. And here is the Asian Sweet Rice Flour I ordered.  I had more than enough left from Thanksgiving to make these again, so I did last week.  They were still as wonderful as I remembered.  In fact, Veggie Hubby would not let them cool for 15 minutes after they came out of the oven.  He had to have one immediately.

All the other ingredients I found at Whole Foods.  Later I looked at Whole Foods and found they had the 2 Asian flours as well.

First I cut the recipe in 1/2 because Veggie Hubby and I did not need to eat 24 of these 🙂  Second I’m going to rewrite the recipe here in 12 (or dozen) form because the way it is written on the site above is hard for me to follow.  It is probably just me, but I do better with bullet points or a numbered list then I do with paragraphs 🙂

I used rice milk and organic butter (but you can substitute in milk and/or non-dairy butter if you want).

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon dry active yeast
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 cup rice milk (or milk) – warm but not hot
  • 3/4 cups superfine or Asian White Rice Flour*
  • 1/4 cup superfine or Asian Sweet Rice Flour (also called glutinous rice flour)*
  • 3/8 cup potato starch (not potato flour)*
  • 1/4 cup tapioca starch*
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons xanthan gum
  • 3/4 teaspoons kosher or fine sea salt
  • 1/2 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 egg (you can use a second one to brush over the top before baking)
  • 1/8 cup butter or non-diary butter substitute (plus some more to grease the pan)
  • 1/8 cup honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon apple cider vinegar

* in place of the various flours and starches above you can use 1 5/8 cups of a good quality, all-purpose gluten free flour blend.

Directions:

  1. Combine yeast, sugar and warmed milk in a small bowl and whisk to dissolve the sugar.  Let sit 6-8 minutes or until it has increased in volume.  I left it for about 15 minutes.
  2. While the yeast mixture processes.  Combine the flours, starches, xantham gum, salt and baking powder. Mix for 30 seconds to break up any lumps.
  3. Add the yeast mixture, egg, melted butter, honey and apple cider vinegar.  Mix on medium low until combined.  Scrap down the sides of the bowl, then turn the mixer on high and mix for 3 minutes.  It will be a very thick and smooth batter.
  4. Brush 1 standard 12 muffin pan with butter or gluten free non-stick cooking spray.
  5. Spoon batter into the muffin pan, filling about 1/2 full.
  6. Cover with clean kitchen towel and place in a warm, draft free place to rise.  Let rise for 35 minutes or until the dough has almost doubled in size.  It took about 50 minutes for me.
  7. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
  8. OPTIONAL:  Beat another egg with 1 teaspoon of water. Gently brush tops of muffins with egg mixture.
  9. Bake for 17-18 minutes.  Let cool in the pan for 15 minutes.

These rolls can be refrigerated for up to 2 day and reheated in a 350 degree oven.

************

As you can see from the pictures I used a Pampered Chef  Stoneware Muffin Pan.  The rolls popped out cleanly as you can see in the picture.  Some of my times may vary from yours, as I’m in CO and I’ve found that the altitude does often influence the rising and baking times.

Gluten Free Light Rolls

Gluten Free Light Rolls

Gluten Free Light Rolls

Gluten Free Light Rolls

Gluten Free Light Rolls

Gluten Free Light Rolls

One thought on “Gluten Free Light Dinner Rolls

  1. Pingback: Almost Gluten Free Thanksgiving! | Vegetarian Wife's Blog

Leave a Reply

