Gluten Free Chocolate Macaroons

Gluten Free Chocolate Macaroons

Gluten Free Chocolate Macaroons

These Gluten Free Chocolate Macaroons are very yummy. As I stated in last week’s blog I lost the recipe for chocolate macaroons that I made last year, because the link is broken this year, so I searched online and found a new recipe. Here is the link and I will also put the recipe here with my modifications, so we won’t lose it for next year.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/3 cups semisweet chocolate chips (about 8 ounces), divided
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups unsweetened flaked coconut
Gluten Free Chocolate Macaroons - Ready for the oven

Gluten Free Chocolate Macaroons – Ready for the oven

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325 F.
  2. Line 2 large rimmed baking sheets with parchment paper.
  3. place 1 cup of chocolate chips in microwave-safe bowl.  Microwave on low setting at 10-second intervals until chocolate is melted. Stirring occasionally.
  4. Using mixer, beat egg whites and salt in medium bowl until soft peaks form.
  5. Gradually ad sugar, then vanilla.
  6. Fold in melted chocolate and coconut, then remaining 1/3 cup of chocolate chips
  7. Drop heaping teaspoons onto prepared baking sheets, spacing 1 1/2 inches apart.
  8. Bake cookies 10 minutes. Reverse baking sheets and bake for 1 more minutes.
  9. Cool on baking sheets or on racks.
  10. Store airtight at room temperature.

My changes are I used Chocolove full size chocolate chips because I like them and its what I had. I also used unsweetened coconut.  These turned out plenty sweet without using sweetened shredded coconut. I also used cane sugar instead of refined white sugar.

I especially love these because the chocolate chips added at the end add a nice chocolate surprise when you bite into them.

Do you have any suggestions for improvement or a recipe for chocolate macaroons that you recommend? If so please leave a comment below.

One thought on “Gluten Free Chocolate Macaroons

  1. Pingback: What food should I make for the Super Bowl? | Vegetarian Wife's Blog

Leave a Reply

